Go to web content
Logotipo Ayuntamiento de Calvia

Your Council

Logotipo Ayuntamiento de Calvia
Visit Calvią Citizenship Know Calvią

Imprimir p gina

Share in Linkedin

Share in Facebook

Share in Twitter

'Premis rei En Jaume 2021' awards ceremony


Thursday 2nd September 2021

'REI EN JAUME 2021' awards ceremony

Juan Francisco Mota Magaña wins the Comic Prize with the work 'Las Cuevas de mármol de Calvià'

The Photography Prize goes to Agneta Manjavacas Lindmark for 'El nido'

'Escalar un gigante' by Cultural-ment Produccions, with dramaturgy and direction by Bernat Molina wins the Theatre Prize

This Thursday the mayor of Calvià, Alfonso Rodríguez Badal, presented the 2021 rei En Jaume Awards, within the framework of the King En Jaume Festivities, which this year are beginning to recover some of the activities, in a controlled way and with limited capacity.

The event, which took place in the gardens of Calvià Town Hall, began with the welcome of the deputy mayor for Culture, Nati Francés, and then with the intervention of the Mayor who congratulated the winners, highlighting the quality of the works presented and the talents that have been manifested in the 23 works that have been presented in this edition. The event ended with a dramatised reading of a small fragment of the winning theatre text, by the actors Bernat Molina and Santi Pons, and the musical performance of the group Abú YahJazz.

The rei En Jaume Awards are a continuation of more than forty years of tradition in which, in the different stages of its history, they have had the most representative artists of the island and have brought together considerable professionals from the world of culture.

In each call, a main theme is established, and for 2021 the common theme has been the unknown Calvià: remote urban spaces, natural hiding places in the ground and in the sea, unknown or difficult-to-access corners.

The winning works can be visited in the Town Hall's exhibition hall until 30th September.


Rei en Jaume Comic Award

The rei En Jaume Comic Prize has been awarded in the work 'Les coves de marbre de Calvià' by Juan Francisco Mota Magaña.

The jury, made up of Rafel Vaquer, comic book author and vice president of the Comic Cluster; Jordi Sempere Vicedo, professor at the EASDIB, and Pepmi Garau Salom, animator, illustrator and special mention of the 2020 award, have valued the excellent combination of locations and popular rondalles (stories), with a correctly developed script, the presence of ecological values and a very expressive drawing and well built characters.

There has been a Special Mention to the work 'Atrapar el viento', by Juan José Ramos Canales.

Rei en Jaume Photography Award

The rei En Jaume Photography Prize has been awarded to the work 'El nido', by Agneta Manjavacas Lindmark, for its treatment of space, composition, visual power of the image, adaptation to the theme of the call's terms and conditions and the beautiful visual simplicity.

In the case of photography, two Special Mentions have been awarded, one to 'Cream and Sour', by Víctor Torres Pujol, and another to 'A la fi silenci, silenci, tan sols silenci', by Jaume Gaviño Morey.

The jury has been made up of Neus Marroig Colom, artist and member of the AAVIB; Aina Ferrero Horrach, art critic and spokesperson of the ACCAIB, and Alejandra Frontera Orleans, winner of the Prize in 2020.

Rei en Jaume Theatre Award

The Theatre Prize has been awarded to the theatre play 'Escalar un gegant' by Cultural-ment Produccions, with dramaturgy and direction by Bernat Molina. The jury has valued the high dramatic quality and the solidity of the technical project and the team, in addition to the interest raised by the theme and the ability to move the audience.

The theatre play 'Au revoir vacuité', by the company Las primas de Bárbara, and by author Vicente Villó, has received a Special Mention.

The actress, playwright and special mention of the 2020 awards, Catalina Florit; the actress, playwright and winner of the 2020 award, Lluki Portas, and Rosa Jaume Sunyer, actress, theatre director and of the Muestra de Teatro Escolar de Manacor, have made up the theatre jury in this edition.